I love YouTube

Youtube DOES change everything. I definitely have to agree with that. I’m so glad we were given this article to talk about because I love watching videos off of yt. I can honestly say that I watch yt more than I watch television.

Why do I love yt? Well, I love it because I get to choose what I watch and there are no commercials (I have ad-blocker). Also, I find that yt channels and youtubers, in general, are much more creative, authentic and real. I can relate to them and I like that they are just regular people, like you and me. Okay, maybe not all of them. Some youtuber’s are now considered youtube celebrities, such as Jen Im from clothesencounters, Jessie and Jeana from PVP and Bethany Mota. Although they are considered youtube celebrities, at the end of the day, they are still just normal people. They didn’t start their channels to make money and they didn’t sign a contract with a management company. They made a channel because they genuinely wanted to create videos, share their life and put it online.

I truly admire youtubers who put in time and effort to make their videos look awesome. A lot of people don’t just upload videos anymore. They spend countless hours editing their videos and adding special effects. And they don’t hire people to do it for them (usually). I know for a fact that Judy edits her own videos, even with twin babies and a toddler. I applaud her. I also get inspired by videos I see on yt and learn a lot. For example, I am subscribed to a lot of chefs such as ByronTalbott, FoodWishes and Laurainthekitchen. I have made recipes from them and they always come out great. I love how I have the ability to save the video or add it to my playlist to view later. I can’t do that with my television because it doesn’t come with recording features. It makes it a lot easier to write down a recipe because of the playback features. I can make a recipe that was uploaded in 2010, tomorrow.

I also love yt because of the music. I love going onto yt to listen to my favorite artists, and discover new ones. I don’t have to pay for songs, unlike iTunes and can watch music videos. Yt has turned into my version of MTV, since MTV doesn’t actually play music videos anymore. It’s awesome that we are able to listen to music from other countries. I enjoy listening to k-pop on occasion and their music videos are so cool. Yt is also great because of the community. I can see what everyone is thinking or feeling by reading their comments. Most of the time, the comments are positive and supportive. I have to admit, however, it can also be a little mean and catty. I have seen so many negative and mean comments throughout the years and it sucks that you can’t prevent anyone from leaving them. You can delete them, but you can’t prevent it (at least I think). I definitely think the comment section has its pros and cons. Pros: you get immediate feedback and can communicate with other users and the youtuber. Cons: people can hide behind their username and leave mean, offensive or negative comments. Nobody likes that!

Here are some of my favorite youtubers:

ItsJudysLife: Judy Travis and her husband, Benji record their lives (every single day) and are considered vloggers. However, Judy also has her own beauty channel called It’s Judy’s Time and Benji has his own food channel called BenjiManTV. They have a beautiful daughter named Julianna and Judy recently gave birth to twin girls. I watch her vlogs almost everyday, either right before bed or in the morning since she uploads her videos late at night.

ClothesEncounters: Jen started this channel with her friend Sarah. However, they parted ways and Jen took over the channel. She styles outfits, does hauls, monthly favorites and is extremely cool! She has awesome style, is really pretty and has a great personality.

Hello October: Suzie specializes in beauty, hair and skincare. However, she will upload hauls and monthly favorites as well. I guess you could call her a lifestyle youtuber. She has her own blog, which I also follow and is very knowledgeable. She’s Lily Collin’s look-a-like!

What are your favorite channels?

2 comments

  1. I definitely agree that you tubers are just like me and you. It is always an added plus when you can relate to whatever you are watching. A good point you mentioned was listening to music for free. Nothing is ever free anymore, so youtube is refreshing site that allows you watch whatever you want without any fees. (At least that I know of). Shows on Youtube are getting a lot more popular and its crazy because people really start to become famous off of them.

  2. This is an amazing post Sarah. I look forward to reading your posts every week. I have to agree that I definitely watch more YouTube than I watch television. It seems as I grew older television just started to show a different variety of shows that I normally do not watch more often so I’ve begun to watch it less.

    I also have Ad Blocker and I have to say that it totally changed my life. Who knew we could watch YouTube videos without the annoyance of advertisements. It totally wastes 30 seconds of your life watching something you don’t want to watch. Imagine how much of our lives have been wasted already with pointless advertisements we were forced to sit through ! What a waste !

    I don’t really follow any YouTube channels so I don’t really know any of those people you’ve mentioned. But if you are famous enough, as in you get enough viewer traffic, YouTube will actually pay you to have commercials in your spots. So these people are getting paid ! Even if it wasn’t their original motive. By the way, Tivo lets you record and rewatch television shows later ! It’s actually pretty cool but I’m not too sure if it even exists anymore because Time Warner Cable and other cable companies caught on to this and just included this ability into their original plan.

    You are right though. People think they are tough all of a sudden when they are behind a keyboard. I guess without the personal feel of seeing someone in the eye, they are not scared of any altercations happening cause they can’t physically touch you. Too many internet trolls ruin the internet’s comment sections. Don’t even read them anymore

Leave a comment